Honduras - Political and electoral system

Political and administrative structure

Divided into departments, the creation and boundaries of which are established by the National Congress. Departments are divided into autonomous municipalities administered by elected councils, as established by law.

Municipal government

Municipal government: municipal council and mayor. There are 291 municipalities, divided into villages and hamlets.

Duration of terms

Municipal administrations last four years.

Representation system

Relative majority for mayors; proportional system based on the D'Hondt method for list candidates.

Type of list

Closed list.

Electoral constituency

Uninominal; the candidate list, however, is headed by the mayoral candidate. Proportional for councilpersons in constituencies of variable size.

Quota and parity laws

Decree 54 of 2012 raises the women candidate quota to 40% for positions of authority and within parties, as well as candidates to popularly-elected positions. When only one candidate is to be chosen, the principle of equality is applied with alternating sexes for principal and substitute candidates. It establishes that the principle of parity will be applied beginning with the 2015 electoral period (50% women and 50% men).

Electoral Justice

The Supreme Electoral Tribunal is responsible for all acts, procedures, referenda and other electoral matters at the national, regional and local levels. Its composition, organization and activities are governed by the Constitution and the Law on Elections and Political Organizations.