Dominica - Political and electoral system

National parliament

Unicameral (The House of Assembly).

Municipal government

Dominica has a centralized system of government. Local governments have mostly administrative functions. There are three elected "Municipal Councils" in larger cities, 37 village councils, and one council representing the indigenous population.

Duration of terms

President, Prime Minister, House of Assembly: Maximum of 5 years from formation of government.

Representation system

House of Assembly: Majority: Direct election. Simple majority vote. Vacancies of Representatives' seats between general elections are filled through by-elections, held within 3 months. Senators' seats are filled through appointment, also within 3 months.

Voting is not compulsory

Electoral constituency

House of Assembly: 21 single-member constituencies.

Quota and parity laws