Saint Kitts and Nevis - Political and electoral system

National parliament

Unicameral Parliament (National Assembly).

Municipal government

There is no Provincial level of government. Below the National Government, there are 14 local parishes that make up the second tier of administrative subdivisions - Saint Kitts and Nevis' s Constitution, Article 29.

Duration of terms

Prime Minister and National Assembly: Maximum of 5 years from formation of government.

Representation system

Representatives are directly elected by simple majority in single member districts. Three Senators are appointed by the Governor-General (2 on the advice of the Prime Minister, 1 on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition). The last Senator is the Attorney General.

Electoral constituency

National Assembly: 11 single-member constituencies.

Quota and parity laws